Walk


Earphones plugged in, my cocoon is ready

Slipping into my boots and coat, setting off

The chilly wind, crossing the layers and to my bones

Shivering, I go on.

A length uninterrupted now, a turn there.

One step after another

Music in my head, in my cocoon

Cut off from the world, I do not see but I am miles away from where I walk.

Along the dingy paths, we crossed while coming where we have come so far, I turn my gaze to the walls and the rooftops above and find a little girl peeping through a cross patterned net curtain, looking down at us so I smiled not knowing who she is for she was a little girl maybe bored of her text books or her tiny doll or maybe she didn’t have a doll.

Moving on, I turned another turn and another and I did not stop

In my mind, I had just begun but the pain in my feet said otherwise

Weak body, this cage.

Further down the road, I saw a marketplace with fruits and chocolates and flowers and vendors shouting with hagglers whom I couldn’t see or hear for my sense were reserved for the delicate dolls lined in the shop reminding me of the little girl peering down from the curtained window.

The little girl was real but I am alone

There is no ‘we’, is there?

Turning around, its just me. Walking.

Having come a long way, I just sit on the side of the road

Its raining, I see thunder in the sky

A war breaks out, in hapless situation

I cry.

Would you tell me the way home or do I just sit or wander?

Caught in cross fire, all I think about is the crossing pattern of the net curtain.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Walk

Care To Share Your Views? Please Do!

