My Pain, My Gain


Life offers pain generously
And I being what I am, take it all in willingly
Surrendering to the forces that threaten to break me
Yet I enjoy the pain I feel

Teaching me to endure, to test my limits
As I realise my addiction
I feel and I hurt, but still carry

The load, the burden, the pain
A reminder of the constant dull ache
All the while putting up a smile which is so fake
My pain is what I gain from fate

What I use, what I believe to be true
Hating myself for being weak
For taking up pain as my partner

Some sort of forgiveness I seek

But I am denied, time and again

The pleasure of being in melancholy

image

Shifa Naseer

Care To Share Your Views? Please Do!

