Spooky Evening


Sitting on a bench, not far from me
A little girl of six or eight
Helping a worm in the ground to get free
Even though the night was descending
I sensed the feeling of withdrawal
But the girl only dipped her head more
To help the worm out
Wearing a blue jumper, her hair all long and pretty
Splayed out around her
Protecting her from the outside world
She sensed my gaze on her and looked at me
All the warmth drained from me
I shivered from the effect her gaze had on me
I couldnt let my eyes roam away from her
A picture of utmost vulnerability

Who was she?
Her eyes which said a thousand stories
An insight into her tiny heart
Busy helping the worm, digging with tiny hands
I closed my eyes to capture her to my mind
To let the picture remain
Of her help, her pain
The stars were out and it was late
I glanced at the ground again just to glimpse her long, shiny mane
But the ground was empty and the hole was dug
I looked around for her but I was alone
I sinked to my feet as I felt the chilly air
I crawled to the hole and looked inside
My name was there etched into mud
With the worm dead, crippled like a bud
I freaked out and ran away
As far as I could from the place
Pledging to never return at dusk
It was spooky for the girl was gone
And the worm was dead
But her passion he sensed
And his name she remembered.

spooky indeed
spooky indeed

Shifa Naseer

2 thoughts on “Spooky Evening

  1. before u send me a frnd request … make sure u add a
    short message … or else i wont accept coz i often forget
    those i know … thnx …
    PS. I have a blog … if you want, go check that out for
    further information

    …… facebook chalani aattii ha ,,,,
    niklae ho blog chalanae

    :p 😀

    waissae tell u 1 thing
    these are nice lines written by u … kuch b ho acha hi ha
    🙂

    reply via mail , about blog

Care To Share Your Views? Please Do!

