The Last Day


The last day when I saw my dad alive.
On the eve of my dad’s death, he was very very restless. I am not exaggerating! He was restless. Sometimes sitting on the couch, sometimes on the bed, sometimes on the floor. It drove me insane to see dad in such a state. My mom and me watched dad all night long, moving here and there. I wanted to pull my hair out and scream to see dad ib so much pain. It still kills me when I remember. By the time the morning came, we were all tired as we stayed awake with dad the whole night long. Dad never once said anything. In the morning, everyone was tense! No one was talking. All of our relatives came, sitting around dad. I never once went near him. I was afraid and its my life’s regret that I didnt have the courage to face the truth. I refused to believe what the situation was telling me, I refused to hear what mom was trying to make me understand. It was a total melancholy for me. I couldn’t believe it. I wasn’t ready for it. The whole day I stayed away. Once I went near dad to force him to drink a bit of water and a bit of his medicine. He used to listen to me. Dad was delirious the whole day. Everyone knew it was only a matter of time before he would …
My mom and uncle asked me whether they should get an oxygen cylinder to help dad breathe. I nodded my head vigorously. They looked at each other and my uncle left to get one. Till 8 o clock, his condition kept on worsening.

I dont think I can continue. I will complete it some other time. Sigh!

Posted from Shifa Naseer’s phone 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Last Day

Care To Share Your Views? Please Do!

