Books !! My Passion !


This something for which I am eternally grateful to Allah who gave my dad the habit of reading books and who infused me with those habits ! I am a sucker for books ! Novels actually ! I kind of drink down the words itself ! I cannot explain the feeling I get when I read a book ! Its like heaven in itself ! One can forget where one is and give in to the lives of the various characters of the book! I am always in my highest spirits while I am reading a book but as soon as it finishes, I feel bored and annoyed until I get a new one ! I read both paper as well as e-books ! Imagine, I can even tolerate the itching white screen of my phone to read a book ! If a books is interesting, I fly through it ! But if its boring, then I crawl through it ! But this way or that, I finish the book ! I never left any book incomplete ! I have made a vow that if I start a book, I will end it ! I started reading books from the second grade ! I even remember my first book and that was a small story of 20 pages, named “Jack and the beanstalk”. I loved the book so much and read it so many times that dad realized that I loved reading and thus began my journey through words. Next my level was increased and I started reading “Enid Blyton” ! “five find outers and and a dog ” was my favorite series ! i still remember there were around 15 books in that series and I read each one of them ! i even read “malory towers” and “famous five” series ! But I never got to complete them ! 😦
After that I began reading random novels ! They were also good but I liked following a particular series. Then I fell upon “Harry Potter” in my sixth grade ! Thus began my obsession with that series ! I was a frantic reader of Harry Potter! I read all the books that year except ofcourse Deathly hallows which was released in my eighth grade ! I read deathly hallows a week and a half after it was released ! I got really lucky ! After that, I got all the movies too ! I have the whole collection in my desktop ! The whole folder is around 13 GB !
Then while all this fanaticism was going on, I even stumbled upon “Twilight”. Then hardly anyone in Kashmir might’ve known about that series ! I read the whole series during the political disturbance in 2009. After that I became its fan as well. I saw the twilight movie so many times that I learned all the scenes and dialogs of the movie ! After that I hardly read harry potter for a year ! But when everyone started screeching “Twilight ” “twilight”, it annoyed me ! So I left it off in my tenth grade and again turned to Harry Potter !
During all this time, I even read the works of David Baldacci, John Grisham, Jeffery Archer, Jane Austen, Charlotte Douglas etc.
I hardly remember the authors anymore. I am venturing deep into the world of literature. I have started reading those books which nobody has ever heard of ! It makes it all the more fun ! I recently read the series “Fallen”. It is amazing ! And nobody has heard of it ! 😉
I particularly have an attachment to a Jeffery archer’s book named “Kane and Abel”. I have a deep connection with that book ! It is the one book over which Dad and I used to fight as to who gets to read it first ! I got that book and started reading! It turned out to be awesome ! So I suggested my dad to read it too. One day I was out and dad started to read that book ! He found it equally enjoyable ! He and I used to fight for that book ! We both were simultaneously reading it ! And since it was full of suspense, we could hardly contain ourselves and give the book to the other for reading ! I got so annoyed that I sat one day and finished that book and told dad the end ! After we both finished the book, we had a good laugh and a good scolding from my mother ! AAAAaaahhhhh ! Those were the awesome days !
Dad used to get me novels from his favorite authors and each book was better than the other ! My dad had an exquisite taste regarding books and literature !
Currently I am reading John Grisham’s “The Partner”. Lets see how it turns out to be …………………………. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Books !! My Passion !

  1. I too am kind of a book obsessed person ;). Ive read the works of daniel defoe, paulo coelho, jane austen, r.l. stevenson, khaled hosseini, john green and shifa naseer 😉 Just hovering over your older posts 🙂 . Well yeah I have read the famous five series 1-13. (Looking over to the bookshelf) 😉 never got to complete them . There are 21 books in the series. Ur writing rocks! . Well I never thought of reading harry potter series. Shall I ? Guess it’s too late.

  2. I too am kind of a bookworm ;). Ive read the works of daniel defoe, paulo coelho, jane austen, r.l. stevenson, khaled hosseini, john green and shifa naseer 😉 Just hovering over your older posts 🙂 . Well yeah I have read the famous five series 1-13. (Looking over to the bookshelf) 😉 never got to complete them . There are 21 books in the series. Ur writing rocks! . Well I never thought of reading harry potter series. Shall I ? Guess it’s too late.

  3. You forgot to mention me in your books obsession. I played an equally important role. Listening to all those stories, you see. 😛
    P.S: I have heard of the book “Fallen” and the rest of the series. 😉
    Lauren Kate wali na?

Care To Share Your Views? Please Do!

